15
Dec
10

Movie Update: Iron Man 3

Director  Jon Favreau has left his Iron Man 3 project, set to release in 2013, to direct Disney’s Magic Kingdom. No word on who will take his place. Thoughts?

6 Responses to “Movie Update: Iron Man 3”


  1. 1 Dante
    December 15, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Favreau! I saw him in I love you, man film. haha!

  2. December 15, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Isn’t the Iron Man series his baby? What the hell is a Magic Kingdom?

    • December 16, 2010 at 5:05 am

      The quick way to describe Magic Kingdom, Night at the Museum in Disneyland. Although, if people say that to Jon Fav, he gets pretty defensive. The latest little blurb he said about it sounded better and cool. MK will be darker, like live action Disney films from the late 70s and 80s.

  3. December 16, 2010 at 5:29 am

    On one hand that’s disappointing since he had such a major role in shaping Iron Man and setting the tone of the Marvel movie universe. However, Joss Whedon will be directing IM/Stark in the Avengers movie, so we will get to see what another person can do with the character. Since Jon Fav will most likely stay on as a producer, I don’t think this will change that much.

    People had issues with Chris Columbus leaving Harry Potter, but those movies just got better and better with each director – although my personal favorite is most likely Alfonso Cuarón. I haven’t seen the new HP movie yet, so I can’t say for certain.

    On another site someone mentioned Neill Blomkamp (District 9). He would be good. Someone that has an eye for action shots and can blend live action and CG seamlessly.

    Collider mentioned that Robert Downey, Jr. has contractual approval of any new director(s).
    I love Jon Favreau’s approach to movies, so I’m actually excited about this prospect. He gets to step outside of what people know him for and put together something wild like Zathura, or Aliens & Cowboys.

    Considering what an awesome surprise Jon Fav was with Iron Man 1 (the dude from Swingers that directed ELF?!), its going to be cool to see the next person in the director’s chair.

    • December 16, 2010 at 8:33 am

      FYI – the new HP movie was really good I thought. Much better than the last. I loved loved loved District 9, so I wouldn’t be opposed to giving Blomkamp a go. And please, g33ky, you know you love you some Elf hahahhaha 😉
      -R1

      • 6 KingofSpadez
        December 17, 2010 at 12:08 pm

        I don’t care who directs it, as long as its not Sam Raimi ( I’m sure I spelled it wrong ) Micheal Bay, or whoever directed the worst Super-Man ever I’m good! But I’d go with the guy from D9 I really enjoyed that movie…….oh oh J J Abrahms Star Trek and Cloverfield was epic. Brain Storm just make the co-directed…………See how that works out. I mean you could give J.J. nothing to work with and he will make it epic(Star Trek), I bet he can make Power Rangers good, he’ll probably kill Kimberly in the first 5 min but who cares about kimberly!


Leave a Reply

