27
Nov
10

Photo of the Day

Current Uncanny X-Force… I don’t have the artist name but it looks like it’s gotta be Greg Land. Let me know if it’s not!

7 Responses to “Photo of the Day”


  1. November 28, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Let me start by saying what a crew of BADASSES! Now for the WTF portion: WTF is Archangel doing with a gun!? Why the fuck do you need a gun on everybody!? Is that the point of mutant powers, your own personal gun with unlimited ammo???

    • November 28, 2010 at 12:42 pm

      Hahah cuz they are X-Force! Unnecessarily killing an abundant amount of bad guys. Besides, Angel doesn’t really have any cool long range powers unless he’s Archangel, who he’s fighting not to be, so it might come in handy for him?
      -R1

      • November 29, 2010 at 11:30 am

        Okay.. so then now I’m confused. He was angel, then archangel, then I remember him getting his wings back but still having the blue skin (they turned out to be like casts instead of permanent replacement wings). So now he’s back to the metal wings apparently, but he can’t/won’t shoot feathers anymore?

        Apparently I need to read up on this character because I’m not sure how metal feathers cutting through skin at high speed is different from metal bullets cutting through skin at high speed. Maybe it’s me 🙂

  2. November 29, 2010 at 11:46 am

    alright.. I just read the wiki on X-Force and OMG, this has to be the most convoluted and nonsensical stuff I’ve ever read… and I LOVE X-FORCE! I always have. But archangel loses his wings to Rahn and then appears with them miraculously attached?! Now he’s triggered into Archangel by the sight of Rahn and vice vesa huh?

    um… okay. Whatever. I’m willing to charge that to classic comics continuity issues and let it go.

    Great team up. All my fave characters too. I hope it does better than all the other post-Liefeld X-Books!

    • November 29, 2010 at 5:18 pm

      I don’t know about all that – I’ve just picked it back up since it restarted after the Second Coming. I’m pretty sure just about anything an set Angel off now – Psylocke is always there trying to keep his mind in check. They even practice killing him for when he turns on them.
      -R1

  3. December 1, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Yeah, Archangel is kind of a time bomb. The first big goal of the new Uncanny X-Force is to take down the newly resurrected Apocalypse – who is a creepy kid ATM. Because of that, Wolverine doesn’t fully trust the big A. Psylocke is there to keep Archangel in check, keep him from turning.

    I think this is one of those “he’s too cool to let go” kind of characters. I mean, it’s Angel, one of the original X-Men. Marvel can’t get rid of him or change him for too long, it would piss off a small but loud group of people – which is the case with any character, when you think about it. “Oh, let’s kill off Orphan from X-Static, no one will care.” Suddenly Marvel is swamped with hate mail or blasted in the forums for killing off “one of the most popular characters since Wolverine”, or something like that.

    I’m not happy with the split personality of Angel. In Uncanny X-Men he’s normal. Through most of X-Force his blue and metal winged. It doesn’t help with any kind of consistency. Just let him be all bad or all good, forget the split.

    Btw, yes that’s Greg Land and that’s most likely why everyone has a gun. Land is a good artist, but it’s like he doesn’t know the characters that he was hired to illustrate. But then, that’s what the editor is for. As Archangel he shoots razor knives/feathers from his wings, so he wouldn’t need the gun.

    The new Uncanny X-Force book is good. The Deadpool moments are funny, like laugh out loud kind of funny. Fantomex is cool. I like that the team is small. This sounds weird, but less characters means more story. The new Horsemen of Apocalypse are pretty neat and creepy.

    • December 1, 2010 at 8:33 am

      Yes, I love whoever is writing for Fantomex, Deadpool, and Wolvie because they are a nice entertaining break from Psylocke and Angel who have been nothing but serious and somber. It’s a good balance and I like this team best too.

      As far as your insights into killing off characters you are absolutely right. I’m still crying in my cheerios about my poor little Kurt Wagner. WHY, NIGHTCRAWLER, MARVEL?! WHY? TAKE ME INSTEAD!!! Better yet, take Kitty Pryde or Jubilee. I wouldn’t miss them.
      -R1


Leave a Reply

