19
Nov
10

Casting Update: The Dark Knight Rises

Latest rumors are that Tom Hardy will be playing Dr. Hugo Strange in The Dark Knight Rises, a genius psychologist that happens to be super evil. I like Tom Hardy but they’re going to have to do some work on his looks to make this fit. Not too sure about this one. Thoughts?

Thanks to NudeTayne.

-R1

10 Responses to “Casting Update: The Dark Knight Rises”


  1. November 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    I’m actually not too familiar with Dr. Strange or Tom Hardy. It’d be cool if they throw in some of the lesser known characters, as long as it’s believable. But having seen all the previous work of EVERYONE involved, I have no doubt that this could be really awesome.

  2. November 19, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Not to sound like a broken record.. but BOOOOOO! What a LAME ass villain to throw into the Batman movies. More proof that the Nolan way is not the way. A Batman without a Mr. Freeze, Killer Croc, Clayface, Penguin or any of the other sci-fi-ish characters that don’t fit into his vision is NOT a Batman I want to watch.

    Having said that, I dont’ mind the actor, but not in the role they picked. Dude can act, but why o why does it HAVE to always be pretty boys in every comic blockbuster film!?!

    • November 19, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      I dunno man, I think Batman is one of the few characters where the real-life gritty depiction actually works.

      We’ve seen where the fanatical sci-fi-ish depiction of Batman goes and that road ends with bat-nippled costumes and boots that for some reason have ice skates built in.

      Hardy was pretty gnarly as Bronson and if they choose to go with the whole “Strange dressing up as Batman” arc things could get pretty interesting…

      • November 19, 2010 at 11:36 pm

        I agree with both of you – I think that Batman can be outlandish and it can be real and gritty. That’s the beauty of Batman. I don’t think Dr. Strange is necessarily a bad idea, depending on how it’s done, but I think he’s miscast. And OrangeJulius, you can NOT seriously still be sh*ting on Nolan when we Spider-man 3s and X-Men 3s and X-Men Origin: Wolverines and GHOST RIDERS out there. Like him or not, he’s done comic book movie better than most lately.
        -R1

      • November 20, 2010 at 2:19 pm

        I’m not dissing the actor’s chops. I agree he was AMAZING as Bronson. I question this weak ass villain they’re throwing at us. That’s the problem with Nolan, no outlandish villains will mean a bunch of watered down chumps for Batman to fight.

        @R1 you are NOT wrong on all those 3s LMAO! Horrible movies

      • November 20, 2010 at 4:01 pm

        Haha and I’m gonna through Ghost Rider 2 in the list even though it’s not even made yet. Call it a hunch lol.
        -R1

  3. 7 Dante
    November 19, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Too bad Two-Face ain’t on this one. I hope he does a cameo or an easter egg somewhere in the next film, like the one they did on the scarecrow. 😀

    • November 19, 2010 at 11:37 pm

      I think I read somewhere that Nolan said he’s really dead. Not that that matters in comic books, but I feel like in Nolan universe, dead probably really means dead.
      -R1

      • November 20, 2010 at 2:13 pm

        Two face is a quintessential comic book villain and one of the arch nemesis of Batman. He’s dead now and not coming back. That is my problem with Nolan that makes me shit on him. Comic books aren’t about reality, they are sci-fi soap operas. People cheat death in comics all the time but the Nolan style leaves no room for that or the outlandish characters that comics breed. It almost, by it’s very definition, precludes a long running series because of the killing off pivotal villains.

        You know what that means. Quicker reboots. You know how I feel about reboots.

        It’s really too bad. He’s the perfect director for Batman movies stylistically, I agree, but his stance on realism doesn’t mesh with comic book movies.

      • November 20, 2010 at 4:00 pm

        I think if you’re going to do a comic book in that way though, Batman is the one to do. And maybe Wolverine. The gritty, dark, realistic verse works for them where it wouldn’t work for like, Super-Man or Spider-Man.
        -R1


Leave a Reply

