12
Nov
10

X-Men: Age of X

Don’t know if you’ve all been following the Age of X reveals, but today we got our full look at the cast for Age of X and I’m kind of excited! It’ll be interesting to see how this is done… it seems AU, as some of these “new” characters seem to actually be Alternate Universe versions of real characters. For example, while Gambit is listed as Gambit and Magneto is listed as Magneto, the two added today (clearly Rogue and Jean Grey/Phoenix) are being called Reaper and Revenant. The guy in the back called Basilisk looks an awful lot like Cyclops, and so on. There isn’t a whole lot of plot detail on this yet, but since it launches on January 26, 2011, we can probably expect some soon. Thoughts?

-R1

16 Responses to “X-Men: Age of X”


  1. November 13, 2010 at 12:56 am

    I was waiting for the final teaser to come out before forwarding to you, since Gambit was front and center, and I figured that one bottom right would be Rogue with Magneto standing over her shoulder.

    From what I’ve been reading in X-Men: Legacy, this might be an alternate universe deal, but from Mike Carey’s interviews I would say no. This is the Marvel’s next mini-event staring the mutants. Carey said he’s been building to this and he’s really excited. Armless Hellion is also a clue that this is not an alternate view of the mutants. He lost his arms during Second Coming, and early previews of Legacy show that Hellion would be dealing with that, in a scene akin to Darth Vader at the end of Star Wars episode 3. Everyone’s costumes are very different, and they look pretty cool, but there are some other familiar faces and names in there besides Hellion. Cannonball, Gambit, Magneto, Rogue (who I’m assuming is Reaper). Berserker, with the red bird on his chest, is looking like Warpath. Revenant looks like Jean/Phoenix, and the new name fits with the concept of Jean, and Phoenix for that matter. Two interesting things about Gambit is the rifle and the Solid Snake outfit he’s sporting. Mags looks like suit of armor. I’m going to poke around online and see if I can dig up more on the power sets of the new people.

    I love Mike Carey’s X-Men writing and can’t wait to read this.

    • November 13, 2010 at 11:15 am

      Yeah, Mike Carey is great – I assumed it was AU because of the different names for the obviously existing characters (do you think they’re all existing characters? Assuming it’s not AU, you’d have to assume there are no new mutants outside of the Five lights? Maybe Basilisk is a Cyclops – judging by the mask, maybe Nightmare is a Pixie or a Blink?) I’m very excited about this – I’ve been following Uncanny, Legacy, and X-Force and I’ve been missing Gambit. Claremont said he was going to bring him back into Legacy after Second Coming, but he hasn’t yet, and the Magneto/Rogue dynamic always rang false with me. And creepy-daddy-issue-ish. Let me know if you find out anything else.
      -R1

      • November 13, 2010 at 12:22 pm

        I’d LOVE to have Blink back as a usable char. I loved her character in AOA, but of course they killed her (like they do all my fave chars).

        I’m sorry, but this cover looks kinda corny to me. I love the Xmen and the New Mutants, don’t get me wrong, but this is kinda “eh” work for the x-books…especially for the launch of an AU/new story arc. Where’s my Jim Lee (relaunch of XMen)? Where’s my Salvadore Laroca (sp?)? I want an artist of that caliber doing the launch art. When I think of dynamic and different looking takes on characters…or the launching of new characters.. I think of all the past books and I’m not impressed by this one. This guys stuff is sorta common to me.

        On one hand, why is Magneto in armor!? What’s with Gambit and the rifle??? Why does Warpath have a chunk of metal tied to his hand!?! WTF!!! The man doesn’t need a hatchet hand to kick your ass! Why oh why do they KEEP putting cyclops in stuff when he’s SUCH a lame character LMAO!! On the other hand, the Blink character looks cool and I’m interested to know where she got those wings. The Hellion character is an awesome take, but only because he’s got that floating arm.
        (sorry for the tirade)

      • November 13, 2010 at 1:11 pm

        I believe that’s a stone axe in Berserker’s/Warpath’s hands and an old ass musket in Gambits. Weird. And amen to Cyclops being sooooooooo LAME.
        -R1

  2. November 14, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Oh SH*T that IS a stone axe LMAO!I totally thought it was the profile of a set of stone knuckles tied to his fists with brown rope. Ugh.. a stone axe is almost worse! I’m sorta offended now actually! Why does the native character have to have a hatchet?

  3. November 16, 2010 at 4:58 am

    I figured something would come out soon. I put a link on my site to the article over at CBR:
    http://justanothergeekblog.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/potd-age-of-x/

    It looks like Age of X will be a AU story (sort of), but it still has an affect on the X titles. Hellion has it pretty bad: he lost his arms in two timelines. Not counting the obvious people, I think I’ve got a good idea on who is who. That is most likely not Warpath, but his brother Thunderbird, or maybe T-Bird has a short straw in this timeline too. Writer Mike Carey confirmed that Basilisk is Cyclopes. I think the bullet helmeted guy is Avalanche. Pixie is front and center, with two soulknives? I think Doug/Cypher is in there. I just don’t know the chick with wings, the dark dude over Magneto’s shoulder, and the girl next to Chamber. Ideas?

  4. November 16, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    The indistinguishable blonde could be Husk. She pretty much looks normal until the whole tear-off-the-skin stuff


Leave a Reply

