28
Oct
10

First Look: Captain America

Entertainment Weekly has given us our first look at Chris Evans as Cap on the cover of Entertainment Weekly. Thoughts?

11 Responses to “First Look: Captain America”


  1. October 28, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Is it wrong that I’m more excited for an article involving The Hobbit? No, no it’s not.

    That being said, Chris looks pretty good. I like his look better than Thor’s pristin armor.

    -R2

  2. October 29, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Yay on Captain America. Yay on the suit. Nay on the actor. Scratch that… BOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

    I mean… HELLO! Captain America is not amusing, nor is he often amused. This dude was AWFUL in the only serious role I’ve seen him in. Furthermore, Cap is a total mans man and he is beefier than Chris could ever get. Bad casting. Worse than Hugh Jackman in my opinion.

    On a positive note, he has the face for sure. And he looks cool with the hair styling. VERY old school. Also, I LOVE the helmet and the shield and am SOOOOOO glad they chose cloth instead of that awful faux metal look they’ve been propagating since Batman 3. Yuck!

    Sidebar: Hugo Weaving is PERFECT for the Red Skull! Awesome!!!

    • October 29, 2010 at 8:26 pm

      That’s what I’m worried about! I love Chris Evans – he’s funny, but I’ve never seen him in a serious role and Steve Rogers is the opposite of “class clownish.” Although I do this Evans is looking pretty beefy and mans man-y in that pic. HELLO! And Hugh Jackman in a saint! He’s just about a foot too tall it all haha.

      And yes, Hugo Weaving IS perfect for Red Skull. Now I just need them to make a non-sucky X-Men movie with Ralph Fiennes as Mr. Sinister and I’ll be a happy camper.
      -R1

  3. October 30, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    This blogspot dude summed it up my feelings on the his costume PERFECTLY!

    http://cjhitchcockanimemoviereview.blogspot.com/2010/07/rant-captain-america-costume.html

    I miss the red in the costume and dropping the scale-mail took away the feeling of “feathers”. Also, the gun is counter to what the character stands for. I’m still salty about that.

    Lastly, THIS is Captain America to me. Not this scrawny buffed up print model they’re parading around in Chris Evans. Booo I say!

    • October 30, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      and my link got stripped out (sigh). This is my idea of cap:

      I was looking around and Chris is actually a close faximile to `70s era Cap. But 1970s Cap leaves the role of Cap to John Walker after beefing up CONSIDERABLY! How does that compute with the whole Avengers thing?

    • November 1, 2010 at 4:12 pm

      The gun doesn’t totally bother me. I mean he’s a soldier. Like a comment on that link you sent said – the WWII era Cap with a gun wouldn’t bother me that much, but Avengers Cap would. Which is weird, because in the comics it’s the other way around – he just recently started using a gun now that it’s Bucky, but it just makes sense in war. And as far as the body type – I don’t think anyone will actually have a comic book body – the proportions are impossible for a real person lol.
      -R1

      • November 4, 2010 at 5:40 am

        Steve Rogers did use a gun during WWII, a Thompson machine gun. So it’s not surprising to see him with a sidearm. Bucky Barnes is very different from Steve, that’s why the entire costume was redesigned. He uses a knife, a pistol, and other gadgets on his belt. The funny thing is that even though Bucky uses a gun, he hasn’t killed anyone, but he has ruined a lot of kneecaps. Somewhere a bunch of AIM and Hydra agents are sitting in wheelchairs, going through rehab, collecting disability. Btw, you would think that a science cult like AIM would realize that a yellow beekeeper suit is not a good uniform.

        Rogers talked about the gun once before, I don’t remember the whole thing. Something about using a gun on the battlefield during war was very different from crooks on the streets of New York.

        I’m with you R1, you will never find someone to look like the comic book. Evans is pretty close though. I was okay with Evans after hearing about how serious he was about the role. He went to see the preproduction stuff for the audition/meeting and he geeked out. This comes from both the director and the Chris Evans himself. He was just so excited about what they had already prepped. Also, he considered taking the role for a while because he didn’t want to screw it up for the fans.

        Evans is more of a smart ass, and he usually goes for those roles. He’s done a few that are more serious in tone. Push, Sunshine, Street Kings, and Cellular.

        I can’t wait to see a trailer or something. I love Cap and I’m really excited about this movie.

      • November 4, 2010 at 9:26 am

        I just love when I know the actor is geeking out over a comic book role. It makes me feel WAY better about it. Not like these little twerps like the chick playing Mystique who ‘had no idea comic books had, like, so many fans, but it’s cool cuz I totally watched X3 for research.’ @*!)&@)(*#)!&$*# READ A BOOK!
        -R1

  4. November 4, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Have you gals seen these?
    http://www.heavy.com/movies/action-movies/2010/11/photos-from-captain-america-the-first-avenger/

    You have 2 of the images, but the others are DOPE! This movie could ACTUALLY be sweet…

    • November 4, 2010 at 6:32 pm

      I have! It looks promising but I’m trying to keep my expectations low on this, GL, Thor, and Avengers. Can’t get any lower for X-Men: First Crap and Spider-Man Reboot: Revenge of the guyliner.
      -R1


Leave a Reply

