05
Oct
10

Director Update: Superman Reboot

Zack Snyder (Director of 300, Watchmen), has been announced as the director for the Christopher Nolan-produced Superman reboot… Thoughts?

15 Responses to “Director Update: Superman Reboot”


  1. October 5, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    I’ve always thought Superman was a douche, but Nolan is my hero and I thought Snyder did a bang up job with Watchmen. So I’ll go see it. As long as they don’t cast Eric Bana as Superman. Then I’m out.

  2. 2 William
    October 5, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Hopefully, they’ll bring Brandon Routh back. He was great in the cape. It’s not his fault Singer gave him a bum story to work with.

  3. October 6, 2010 at 1:51 am

    Routh won’t be in this movie. They want a clean slate on this, and Nolan most likely already has his short list of actors. I think Snyder is going to have a hard time getting what he wants out of this project.

    When I was talking about this earlier with a friend, I had this scene play out in my head. Superman kicking Brainiac in the chest while yelling “This… is… METROPOLIS!!!”

    Another little tidbit was dropped today. Darren Aronofksy was on the list of directors for the Superman gig (first I heard that), but now that Snyder has it an offer went out for Aronofksy to direct Wolverine 2.

    http://www.superherohype.com/news/articles/108339-darren-aronosfky-offered-wolverine-2

    • October 6, 2010 at 10:41 am

      This is random and in no way related to what you’re talking about, but Geeky, are you the one that was telling me how awesome Way’s Deadpool is? I’ve recently been reading a bunch of Way Deadpool and OMG, so good! That’s all haha.
      -R1

      • October 6, 2010 at 11:52 am

        Yeah, that was me. Daniel Way really nailed the character, and he’s really funny. His Wolverine run was… iffy at best. But the issues that guest stared DP were great. The DP Team-Up series is pretty bad, but that’s a revolving door of writers. I think everyone wanted to try writing him at least once, and fans always want more DP, so this was Marvel’s solution.

  4. October 6, 2010 at 10:33 am

    “Superman kicking Brainiac in the chest while yelling “This… is… METROPOLIS!!!””

    This made me LOL.

    I’m hoping Routh isn’t re-cast. He honestly wasn’t that great. He was trying to hard to be Christopher Reeve and that’s exactly what you CAN’T do. I hope they go with an unknown. But please, please, please use the original John Williams score.

    -R2

  5. October 6, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I couldn’t care less. I loved the last one (other than poor casting on Lois) and I’m over reboots. Superman yet another in a long line of heroes I will no longer support.

    Sidebar: What is the big whoop about Nolan!? I don’t GET it! I am NOT impressed and haven’t been since Memento. His comic book work is overly dark with absolutely no sense of humor and I think he relies too much on special effects and not enough on story. He’s good, but he’s not so great as to inspire all the ball-swinging he seems to get. I’ve rewatched Batman and I’ve watched a lot of his canon of work and other than the Prestige I don’t see him doing anything special. Seriously, there are FAAAAAAAAAAR better directors for action.

    • October 6, 2010 at 3:09 pm

      I loved Dark Knight, Batman Begins, Inception, The Prestige, and Memento. He may not be perfect but he’s done the best comic book movie we’ve seen. He’s a God amongst Fox movies lol.
      -R1

      • October 7, 2010 at 9:42 am

        This may sound like a contradiction compared to my last post, but I liked all of those movies. Memento is still one of my favorites. I just agree with Julius that Chris Nolan is not a directing god. If you look at the box office though, he does seem to have a Midas thing going on.

      • October 8, 2010 at 9:54 am

        I agree that he’s not a God in the grand scheme of things, but amongst the Hulks, Spider-mans, X-Mens, and Wolverines that we’ve been seeing, yes he is. That’s just my opinion. I do think that Dark Knight was so amazing more because of the Joker and less because Nolan is just so awesome, but he’s a hell of a lot better than we’ve gotten lately on Comic book movies.
        -R1

      • October 9, 2010 at 12:27 am

        X-Men aside for the moment, I think that since Iron Man the substance of Marvel’s movies have been in turn around. The fact that they are hiring people like Kenneth Branagh and Joss Whedon to make these films show that Marvel wants more than just mindless action.

        I’d like to think that Marc Webb will bring a sense of realism to the Spider-Man franchise. Less camp, more character. It’s really sad to see the horrible mess that X-Men has become, and it pains me to see Matthew Vaughn in charge of that train wreck. He is an incredible filmmaker that shouldn’t be associated with Fox’s crappy attempts at super hero movies. Given his track record, I think that all the bad stuff we’re seeing is less him and Jane Goldman (his film partner) and more Fox and this is their way of recovering or trying to fix what Fox ruined.

        Back to the Superman topic…
        The real question now is, how much of Zack Snyder’s style and vision will be seen in the final product? Judging by how Fox made Brett Ratner’s X-Men: The Last Stand and Gavin Hood’s Wolverine look exactly like Bryan Singer’s films, will we see the same thing with Superman?

    • October 7, 2010 at 9:39 am

      Nolan’s style fit the Batman universe pretty well, and I loved his realistic approach. The recasting of Katie Holmes for Dark Knight was kind of lame. Just get a new character or remove that part entirely. I mean the movie was long enough. BB made Batman cool again, sans Bat-Nipples of course. DK was extremely over hyped. I still really liked it, but the music (or lack of) at the beginning got on my nerves. Just this long drawn out, high pitch note. Joker’s lip licking was… odd, to say the least. The rest of what Heath Ledger did was amazing. I loved the new Bat suit that FINALLY allows the actor to turn his head and look in any direction. The sonar bit at the end was pushing it though. The idea was fine, but the quick action was standard action movie fare: it was too difficult to see what was going on most of the time. Also, Dark Knight got dangerously close to what made Batman Forever and Batman & Robin so horrible. There was a LOT of stuff going on. Two-Face, Joker, a Scarecrow cameo, the Wayne issues. Bad cameos would be cool though. Start a movie with Bats fighting Clayface (like that will ever happen), but then move into the main bad guy’s story.

      This is my last bit of rant. It really makes me mad that in Nolan’s Batman universe, Superman and Batman cannot coexist. Here’s Chris Nolan. The ball he dropped is waaaaaaay over there. No one can see it though because a group of fanboys are sitting on it.

  6. October 18, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Don’t know how true this is, but I just heard that Brandon Routh IS now in the running due to fan demand.
    -R1


Leave a Reply

