08
Sep
10

WTF? X-Men: First Class edition

Everything about First Class has been a WTF so here’s one more. First look at January Jones as Emma Frost on set of First Class. Let’s pretend for a moment that Emma wasn’t a fetus in the 60s. Sure, this outfit is very “60’s” ish, but Emma Grace Frost wouldn’t be caught DEAD in that bloody hat! WTF?

-R1

R2 would just like to go on record as stating that I have officially quit this bitch. Fox has used the X-Men as their personal pooper one too many times. For them to do this to my beloved Emma is UNFORGIVABLE. Liev Schreiber himself couldn’t get me to watch this movie…(Ok, yes he could.)

-R2

Fox: Brutally murdering my childhood, one character at a time.

R1 co-signs this rant. Even Liev couldn’t get me in there. They are taking a big Cleveland Steamer on my favorite comic book characters. X-Men have always had the #1 place in my heart. Damn you, FOX!

15 Responses to “WTF? X-Men: First Class edition”


  1. September 8, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    This thing just keeps getting worse. What is she a bolshevik!? I didn’t know this was Stalin’s Russia!

    • September 8, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      It seriously hurts me so much to see this. So apparently Emma somehow is an adult in the 60s and then regressing to a teenage for Origins. Convenient. And January Jones is NO Emma Frost. She is too scrawny and not b*tchy looking enough. I really wanted Kelly Carlson circa Kimber in Nip/Tuck. Now that bitch is Emma-ish.
      -R1

  2. September 8, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    You tell em – this is X-Men, not Austin Powers!

    Emma is a high-class hooker, she’s not about to wear pleather boots or a hat made of stuffed bunny carcass!

  3. September 8, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Hate to break it to you… check this out:

    It looks better on paper though. The “dress” helps.

    I’m not defending really, I hate the hat. I’m having a hard time understanding what the costume designer was thinking.

    • September 8, 2010 at 10:06 pm

      Hahahahha dammit, Geeky Monkey! Whoever the artist is on that is on crack!
      -R1

      • 10 A.P.
        September 8, 2010 at 11:41 pm

        that looks like Marc Silvestri… who is actually one of my favorite comic book artists because I like the sketchy look of his drawings.. but this particular drawing is pretty miserable

    • September 9, 2010 at 1:58 pm

      Comic book artists don’t know bupkis about fashion. Even with the matching coat she still looks silly. Of all the gorgeous Emma outfits they could choose.. all that great stuff from the Hellfire Club days.. and they choose Marc Silvestri’s work. Seriously?

  4. September 9, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I don’t think they chose Silvestri’s “design”, I think it’s just a coincidence. I mean, he only drew four panels of her at the end of that story.

    I can’t say for sure, again I’m not defending, but for all I know that hat could be popular in the rich neighborhood during the ’60s. The bulk of my knowledge from that time is the Wonder Years, and lets face it, no one in Paul’s circle of friends would wear something like that.

    Okay, now I’m going to comment on the hat for real. It doesn’t match. The hat is HUGE and is mostly for a cold season. With that hat, she should have a full length fur coat to match, instead of the thigh length skirt thing. Also, nothing around her is snowy (because the barbwire in the foreground, I assume they are onset), so why the outfit? Are they going to add the snow in post production? The film will be 3D, so expect some awesome 3D snowflakes flying at you. Extreme!

    Still having a hard time believing this is the same dude that made Kick-Ass, Stardust, and Layer Cake. I really think that Vaughn’s hands are tied while making this movie.

    Damn… I hat, I mean hate, Fox.

    • September 9, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      I just laughed out loud at “expect some awesome 3D snowflakes flying at you. Extreme!” in my office and now people are staring. Thanks a lot.
      -R1

      • September 9, 2010 at 8:29 pm

        As did I. I’m not argueing that she shouldn’t wear the hat, after all Emma’s fashion choices are usually very bold and look-at-me. But you better believe that nothing Emma wears is cheap and that hat looks like it came from the $10 or less bin at Halloween Town (Costume shop).

        And Monkey has hit the nail on the head. Her hat says Winter in Russia while her cape says Spring Shower in London…The boots say that the Hellfire Club is cheap as hell.

        -R2

      • September 9, 2010 at 10:35 pm

        Come on, R2, those are just boots from her stripper days. The only way this movie can redeem itself is if they show a scene of Emma “trying out” for the Hellfire Club and she’s really just sitting there flipping through a fashion magazine and flipping Shaw off while they all think she’s working the pole.
        -R1


Leave a Reply

