30
Aug
10

Casting Update: Fantastic Four

OK, I wasn’t going to report on this, cuz frankly I couldn’t care less about the Fantastic Four Reboot, but there’s been so many stories, I finally gave it. Rumors are below:

  • Jonathan Rhys-Meyers and Adrien Brody are being considered for Mr. Fantastic
  • Alice Eve (noooo! She’s Carol Danvers!) and Amber Heard are being considered for Sue Storm
  • Bruce Willis and Kiefer Sutherland are being pursued as the Thing’s voice (he will be CGI)
  • Stephen Moyer is being pursued as Dr. Doom

Thoughts? Anyone care? *hears crickets chirp*

10 Responses to “Casting Update: Fantastic Four”


  1. August 30, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    I’m OVERJOYED at their choices. I’d LOVE to see Meyers as Reed. He’s a GLORIOUS actor. It helps that I love Bruce Willis I guess, but he’s done some good voice work in the past so I’m happy with that too. I know you Rogues don’t like Alice Eve as Sue but AT LEAST she’s a damned blonde!

    • August 30, 2010 at 9:50 pm

      I think Meyers is a great actor, but I can’t see him as Mr. Fantastic. Richards is so…. stiff. I wonder who they’ll get for Human Torch? I actually think Mr. Fantastic, Human Torch, and the Thing were cast just fine in the first 2, but the story was no good.
      -R1

      • August 31, 2010 at 12:14 am

        Ioan Gruffudd and Michael Chiklis were perfectly cast as Mr. Fantastic and The Thing. Chris Evans was great from a certain perspective. He had the right attitude to be Johnny Storm, but not the right look. I overlook the latter since it’s the character that is important. As much as I like Jessica Alba, she annoyed me so much in that movie! Worst casting! Julian McMahon as Doom wasn’t any better. But, yeah the story (and Story) was horrible for those movies. Doom turning into organic metal. Galactus was a dust cloud! The producers wanted to play up Chris Evans and get their money out of him and turned him into the “hero” of the Fantastic Four by powering him up with all their deals. They should have just introduced the Skrulls so they could have Super-Skrull… never mind. The only thing good about any of those movies was Doug Jones as the Silver Surfer, but they screwed that up too by getting Laurence Fishburne at the last minute to do the voice.

        One way to get me riled up is to talk about how movies screw up source material. F4, Transformers, G.I. Joe, Daredevil, etc.

      • August 31, 2010 at 8:22 am

        Hahahah I hear you – I get the same riled up about X3 and Origins. And yeah, Daredevil and Elektra were just painful. Or Catwoman – ick. I love Halle, but she’s not hitting so well for comic book movies. Or Spider-Man 3 – guyliner?! Really?! OK, I need to stop.
        -R1

    • August 30, 2010 at 9:51 pm

      PS Meyers has a case of the crazy eyes. He needs to play parts that mesh with crazy eyes lol. AKA Match Point, which was awesome 🙂
      -R1

  2. August 30, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Meyers, Eve, and Sutherland are news to me. I heard about all the others. The directors that are being looked are Joe Carnahan (The A-Team, Smokin’ Aces), David Yates (Harry Potter 5-7) and James McTeigue (Ninja Assassin, V for Vendetta). McTeigue might get it. He has comic book movie history and he would most likely be the cheapest. With Harry Potter wrapping up, Yates will be able to pursue other projects, but HP 7 is still in post production and would not be able to fully devote to a F4 movie. Not to say that Tim Story, the previous director, was devoted to the first two crappy F4 movies. Carnahan would be cool, very stylish, but his ego is HUGE and he wouldn’t be able to do. Besides, he’s an “in-demand” director right now, which goes back to who would be the cheapest.

    I doubt they would do it, but they could go the Ultimate route and cast really young, give the franchise room to grow. But the “suits” most likely will go with the iconic look of mainstream continuity. By casting younger unknowns, they would keep costs down, let the property (the F4 brand) generate the audience. That would also let the FX department have more money to play around with, to have a “realistic” Thing, something akin to Gollum from Weta.

    But what do I know? I’m just another geek.

  3. August 31, 2010 at 2:13 am

    …OR they could really shake things up and get a new person to be part of Fantastic Four, maybe this guy.


Leave a Reply

