09
Aug
10

Casting Update: Spider-Man

There are have been rumors flying that Christoph Waltz will tackle the role of The Lizard in the Spider-Man reboot. I’m not excited about this movie at all, but Waltz is a fantastic actor, so we’ll see how it works out. Thoughts?

11 Responses to “Casting Update: Spider-Man”


  1. August 9, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    I agree with you. I’m not at all excited, nor am I going to see this one in the theaters so it doesn’t really matter to me.

  2. 2 g33ky monk3y
    August 10, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Actually, I’m really excited about this project. If you haven’t seen it, Mark Webb’s (500) Days of Summer was great. I like Andrew Garfield; he seems a better fit for Peter Parker than Tobey Maguire. In the beginning I was not behind Maguire’s casting. He was too old and looked it. At least Garfield looks young and could pass as a collage student. Approaching this movie as a complete reboot is going to hurt the filmmakers though, unless they streamline the origin story like in the opening credits to The Incredible Hulk. If Christopher Waltz is rumored for Lizard, then at least they are keeping the previous movies in mind. If they throw some Dr. Octopus or Green Goblin at us, then it would just confuse most people. If you wait a few years they could do that. I wish that comic book movies would not take the Tim Burton Batman approach though and kill off their villains. Why can’t they arrest the bad guy at the end of the movie? They put Magneto in a plastic box, put Octopus and Osborn in the Vault.

    Sorry, that turned into a tangent-like ramble there at the end.

    • August 10, 2010 at 8:31 am

      It’s OK – I heart rants lol. Yeah, I just can’t get that excited about this movie or X-Men: First Class because of various reasons, but if Christoph Waltz is going to be The Lizard than this will pull ahead of X-Men: First Class for me (if it hasn’t already with that terrible Magneto-Professor X-Emma Frost?!?!?! love triangle rumor). I do worry when they do very cartoon-ish villains like Lizard though, because it does make me think of the campiness of Burton’s Batman, where I much prefer Nolan’s more realistic, raw villains, or a Magneto. I think they could pull it off without being corny, but it’s a lot easier to slip into corny when you’re starting with a giant lizard. That’s what she said.
      Wait, what?
      -R1

      • 4 g33ky monk3y
        August 10, 2010 at 11:39 am

        There was an Xavier and Frost romantic history in the Ultimate universe, but not mainstream.

        Like that really matters to these filmmakers.

      • August 10, 2010 at 2:41 pm

        LMAO! Well played R1

        I totally disagree with you guys on Burton. I thought his Batman movies were LEAPS AND BOUNDS over the hollywood-blockbuster-Godzilla/ID4 style action flick. If I see one more heavily choreographed-extremely dragged out martial arts fight scene I’m going to scream.

        But I digress…

        I liked Tobey Maguire. I thought he was an excellent choice, though I agree he’s old. However, ALL the actors/actresses playing roles in Hollywood are the wrong age for their characters. They always screw that up, and I think we’ve come to ignore things like that. As for the Hulk movie, g33ky I can’t believe you resurrected that steaming pile of crap. haha! The opening was cool, but Watchmen did a FAR superior job of it. Still, I agree that if they go back and try to rehash they’ll ruin it

      • 6 g33ky monk3y
        August 12, 2010 at 12:34 am

        What’s wrong with The Incredible Hulk? The first was bad. I liked parts of it, but as a whole it sucked. The second, with Ed Norton was good. At least it had a Ross that kicked ass, a quick cameo of Stark, mention of Captain America, better action, and no hulked-out poodles!

        Seriously, when Ang Lee was making the first Hulk, his kid came up with the idea of the dogs. Those designs were horrible. Really?! A hulked-out poodle? I didn’t need to see that.

      • August 17, 2010 at 8:02 pm

        I couldn’t disagree with you more G33ky. I loved the first one with the following caveat: The end battle was LAAAAAME. The casting was FAR better. The story was a love story… which the Hulk basically is. The Hulk (in my opinion) looked far more like the original Hulk and less like the smart Hulk from later story-lines that the new Hulk resembled.

        I hated the new hulk. HATED it. They didn’t do a bad job with the Betty/Bruce romance, but the casting just didn’t work for me. It saddens me, mind you, because I love Ed Norton’s work and always have and I think he looked the part. He didn’t act like a dorky scientist on the run though. He was like an updated version of the actor from the TV show. BOooooo.

        Furthermore, they didn’t even TRY to make the Abomination a cool character. His whole motivation for becoming the char and the casting for him was just dumb to me and they made him a freakin idiot! The Abomination is twice as strong as the Hulk and retains his intellect (long before Hulk could do this). He also has a strong advantage around water as he has gills. Why didn’t they play up any of that?

        Now… what I WOULD have liked to see is the same director with better writing and the cast from the original. I would keep the Abomination character because he’s a good match-up or pit Hulk against the FF and particularly Thing. THAT is a fight that woudl draw ticket sales.

  3. 8 g33ky monk3y
    August 10, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Lizard, campy? The last story he was in he was eating people left and right. If done right, it could be pretty scary. But I see what you’re saying. The only problem with Batman’s realistic approach is that most criminals would most likely laugh if Batman jumped out of the shadows. If you go in knowing there are other capes running around, its more believable. But Nolan does not want his Superman and Batman to intermingle. So if Bruce or Bats is ever mentioned in Green Lantern, Superman, or Wonder Woman (as if they would ever get around to that one) then I bet it would not be the “same” Batman. Its like Batman Begins is like an Elseworlds Batman or something.

  4. 10 g33ky monk3y
    August 13, 2010 at 12:46 am

    I read on SuperHeroHype.com that this is completely a rumor. I can’t remember how, but they got the official denial that Waltz was involved with the role. The odd thing is that they specifically denied Waltz was “playing the villain” of the Spider-Man movie. Does that mean he is in the movie, just not the bad guy? They go on to say that “when the role is cast, there will be a great actor involved.”

    …?

    Did they just insult Christopher Waltz?

    Also, its not been confirmed that the Lizard will be film’s villain. I think that started with the Waltz rumor. I think Mysterio would be an awesome foe for Spidey to take on. And now that I’m thinking along those lines, Waltz would be good for that part, as Dome Head as a flair for dramatics and Waltz is a good actor.


Leave a Reply

