02
Aug
10

Movie Update: Deadpool

Rumor is that Robert Rodriguez is now in negotiations to direct Deadpool… thoughts?

-R1

4 Responses to “Movie Update: Deadpool”


  1. August 2, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Honestly… I probably wouldn’t like it. While I like Sin City, and I’m sure I’ll like Sin City 2, I just don’t see him doing a comic book movie. He’s a graphic novel guy, and I think he would try to make Deadpool like his other films.

  2. 3 g33ky monk3y
    August 3, 2010 at 12:20 am

    I think this is good thing. His Spy Kids movies show that he knows how to do fun projects, just for the sake of being fun. The same can be said with Planet Terror, which shows he has a dark comedy streak. From Dusk Till Dawn and his segment for Four Rooms were all comedies with twisted plots. So, take Desperado and amp up the dark humor, throw in some Fourth Wall jokes, and you’ve got Deadpool. Rodriguez has a genuine love for comics, not just a “hey, comic book movies are the new thing now so lets get in on that action.” I mean, the guy has been trying to make a Madman movie for a while now. That’s dedication. Also, he felt so strongly that Frank Miller be a part of Sin City that he was kicked out of the Director’s Guild. Rodriguez is one of the few directors that make sense for a Deadpool movie.

  3. August 3, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    As long as it’s nothing like Planet Terror I’m happy. That sh!t was AWFUL. Anything but that. I love his work, mind you, but if it goes the campy direction I’m going to not be pleased. I think g33ky is right about him knowing how to do dark comedy, I just don’t think that Planet Terror was dark or comedic… just stupid and campy.


Leave a Reply

