30
Jul
10

Artist Debate: Frank Quitely

OK, so I’ve been debating whether or not to bring this up, but why not? R2 and I have had many conversations about how bad we think Frank Quitely is… his art looks, for lack of a better word, droopy. It’s literally one of the worst I’ve ever seen! I’ve looked online and it looks like people either love him or hate him, so, people who love him – please explain. Because I can’t find anything good about these renditions. They look like they’re made out of silly putty. See below – like, why does Emma look like an 80 year old Asian woman?!

-R1

4 Responses to “Artist Debate: Frank Quitely”


  1. July 30, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    I agree you either love him or hate him, but you can’t deny his skill. His clothing looks like real clothing and not the usual unwrinklable spandex blanket that seems to cover all characters. His women look like real women, though, as you stated, his people look frumpy. While I think it fits some characters, he could definitely take a lesson in diversity of character because EVERYONE he draws looks the same.

    He’s always reminded me of the guy who did Aeon Flux: More concerned about the overall expression of line in the composition and less about idealized characters and variance of look.

    • July 31, 2010 at 10:28 am

      Yeah, I hate that everyone looks the same and droopy. I feel like when Terry Dodson draws panels everyone has the same face as well, but Quitely’s worse for me. Everyone is droopy and puffy and for some reason Emma is an Asian grandmother lol.

      I agree about Aeon Flux’s artist but at least hi still looked like people, and not… mushy people?
      -R1

  2. 3 g33ky monk3y
    July 31, 2010 at 12:28 am

    I first saw him with JLA2 and loved it. When he switched to Marvel and started X-Men, I was really excited. Then I saw what he doing. All the costumes came from him and Grant Morrison, tying to mimic the X-Men movie but still stand apart and be its own thing. In the end we got black costumes with bright yellow X’s and Emma’s reverse X costume that defies logic and gravity. Does she use tape to keep it all in place? Anyway, everything after JLA2 looked… odd. Like a mix of Steve Dillon and John Cassaday.


Leave a Reply

