30
Jun
10

New Wonder Woman Outfit

J. Michael Straczynski, the new writer of the Wonder Woman series, has given the character a new look. She now wears pants and a jacket. WTF? Look, I get that the skanky gear that Superheroes wear isn’t exactly practical, but it’s all part of the fun. Straczynski said that women questioned him as to how Wonder Woman could be taken seriously as a warrior if she’s fighting in clothes that would easily have something pop out. Well those women weren’t comic book fans! I guarantee it! Keep my male and female heroes in ridiculous spandex! Especially with an outfit like Wonder Woman’s, which is so iconic. This is a terrible decision in my book. Thoughts?

-R1

5 Responses to “New Wonder Woman Outfit”


  1. June 30, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    I couldn’t disagree more. It’s about TIME this ridiculous concept of women portrayed in comics evolved. Sexy is one thing, but I think Straczynski was correct in fixing her outfit. It was dated. The whole fighting in spandex thing is dated. It needs to evolve with the times. Furthermore, I think we can manage to show women that are idealized without being idolized and impossibly endowed. There is room for it and it might even attract more women readers (viewers?)

    • June 30, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      Are you trying to score points with the ladies on here or what? Cuz there’s only two and we DISAGREE! Haha. Yes, the women in comics are unrealistic – but so are the men! So who cares? No, I don’t see a lot of women around in the real world with Double D’s and a tiny waist kicking butt in a bikini, but I also don’t see a lot of men with 8 packs and rugged good looks either. It’s a fantasy world, that’s the fun. And if you’re going to make a costume look more “feminist-friendly” you don’t do it with someone who’s style is so iconic! Blasphemy!
      -R1

  2. June 30, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    I’ll tell you what I told my sister. ALL the outfits change. That is the nature, and HSOULD be the nature of the beast. Things need to evolve.

    As far as being idealized, I don’t think it has to be that way. There is idealized, and ridiculous. I don’t think all the women have to look crazy oversized to be sexy. Halle Berry is sexy. Scarlett Johansen (Sp?) is sexy. Zhang Ziyi (Ziyi Zhang to us here in America)is sexy. NONE of those women have comic proportions. In fact, more and more we are seeing diversity in body type in mags and movies (J-Lo gets love and so does Beyoncé and neither ONE of them has boobs poppin all out of everywhere and this incredibly tiny waist).

    That’s all I’m sayin. There is a concept of sexy in comics that hasn’t evolved with the times. It’s not all busty blondes and their crayon-shaded counterparts anymore. Comics should reflect that.

    Case in point. The guys who drew Tribe (I know I know.. it was only a few issues long) drew Tribe AND X-Factor women with much more diversity. Why can’t we have more of that?

  3. June 30, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    I’m all for comic characters reflecting diversity, but a major costume change isn’t about diversity. It’s about some d-bag wanting to put his stamp on something iconic. I can get behind the top her ensemble, the jacket I’m iffy about but the bottom is unacceptable. Don’t get me wrong, some heroes can and should receive an upgrade (think Luke Cage or the original Nightwing costume) but certain characters need to be left alone. Remember when they tried giving Superman that odd blue lightning costume? Granted it was a cool costume, but it wasn’t Superman. Fans rebelled and the blue tights and red underwear came back. The same thing will happen here. Wonder Woman will rock this tacky Lindsay Lohan-esque ensemble for a while, but she’ll go back to her star-spangled unmentionables.

    My blood pressure just rose at the thought of some yahoo trying to “revamp” Batman’s costume.

    -R2

  4. July 5, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Touché R2, (I’ll refrain from combining those into a one word pun). The pants are horrible. Why not just give her a skort!? LOL


Leave a Reply

