10
Jun
10

Say It Ain’t So…

I wasn’t going to post them because I’m praying it’s not true, but it’s everywhere, so here we go – It’s being rumored that Joseph Gordon Levitt may be up for The Riddler in Batman 3, which will begin filming in March of next year. I have nothing against him as an actor, but – Do. Not. Like. What do you think?

-R1

9 Responses to “Say It Ain’t So…”


  1. June 10, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Awful choice. While Jim Carey would be a great choice (again), I personally think Rainn Wilson would be great at The Riddler, despite his age. But hey, at least they aren’t proposing Will Ferrell as The Riddler, right?

  2. June 11, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Jim Carey was a great Riddler. His performance was reminiscent of Frank Gorshin from the 60’s Batman. But Nolan may not want to go that over the top – The Riddler is a hard character to cast.

    -R2

  3. 3 mandarinm
    June 11, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    I disagree on both accounts gents. I think he’s a pretty good choice, though not old enough. The Riddler is a very serious character, though he sometimes cracks jokes. He’s more of an elitest villain. I look to the Batman cartoon for inspiration and that gives me the look Joseph G Levitt has. I’m anxious to see if he can Ledger-fy the role that tends to be cast too much like the Joker to be a standalone villain.

    Jim Carey was an AWFUL choice for Riddler. Just awful. He brought me back to the campy days of the television show. He would have been PERFECT for the Joker. I don’t know what they heck they were thinking in the first place. The Joker, though Heath changed my perception of how he could be done right, is the exact character Jim Carey did as Riddler just with a different suit.

    • June 11, 2010 at 9:21 pm

      Yeah I wasn’t a huge fan of Carey, but I’m less of a fan of the idea of Joseph G Levitt. Agree that Carey was too over the top and campy which is totally against Nolan’s style. Hopefully it’ll fall on someone that can play the role dark enough for Nolan, but still true to the character.
      -R1

  4. June 11, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    I think I’m a fan of Carey because it takes me back to the days I watched the old Batman show with my dad. But I honestly do not want a Gorshin-like portrayal of the Riddler for Nolan’s vision. I picture the Riddler as someone who is socially awkward because he’s so intelligent and he spends so much time on his riddles/crimes. He should also have something of a creep factor. I heard two suggestions today that I like, one was Michael Emerson (Ben Linus from Lost) and the other was David Tennant who amongst other things played Barty Crouch Jr. In Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

    -R2

    • June 12, 2010 at 12:00 am

      I’d give Emerson a shot at it. Tennant doesn’t look creepy enough for me, but I can’t remember him in Harry Potter, so I’m going off of a picture alone. Another guy that always plays a creep is Jackie Earle Haley. I might let him try as well (if you’ve ever seen him in Little Children or Watchmen).
      -R1

  5. 8 William
    October 3, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    I like it… This guy can act. Give him the benefit of a doubt.

    • October 4, 2010 at 12:00 pm

      Agreed that he can act – and I thought he was great in Inception. I don’t know, he looks too young to play the Riddler to me. Too innocent. I’d definitely give him a shot and see it if he is cast though.
      -R1


Leave a Reply

