08
Jun
10

Casting Update – X-Men: First Class/Spider-Man Reboot?

Rumors are swirling that Michael Fassbender will either be our younger Magneto or the main villain (which has not been announced) in the Spider-Man reboot. I like this guy for Magneto, but doesn’t he seem quite a bit older than James McAvoy? Thoughts?

4 Responses to “Casting Update – X-Men: First Class/Spider-Man Reboot?”


  1. 1 g33ky monk3y
    June 8, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    I’m not overly excited about either of those movies, but if I had to choose I would pick this guy being in X-Men. I can see him as Mags. I wonder how much of the movie will be way in the past and how much will be post-accident/wheelchair Xavier. Are we going to see the Savage Land?! I seriously doubt it.

    Spider-Man sidebar:
    Right now Jamie Bell is the unofficially confirmed/unconfirmed choice for Peter Park/Spider-Man. Even though I like Bell, and the director Mark Webb, I don’t like that they went with someone older (which the producers said they weren’t going to do). They’re going to get a Tobey Maguire scenario again.

    • June 8, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      Agreed on both counts – I’m not excited about either. I will always see an X-Men movie, because they are, without a doubt, my all-time fave, but I’m not excited. I’ll be interested to see if they do flashbacks or if it’ll just be them younger the whole time. As far as Spider-Man, it’s hard to care about this movie at all. I heard about Jamie Bell and yes, they’re back to where they started. Either way, we already saw him become Spider-Man, so what’s the point?
      -R1

  2. June 9, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Spidey:
    Peeps, I agree on all counts. Why-oh-why do we need a reboot on a movie that not even 15 years old!? With all the easy wins they could pull from the comicbook world, why are they so set on rebooting the same old same old.

    X-Men:
    I’m not going to see another X-Movie in the theaters. I refuse to keep supporting bad writing, and poor casting. If we don’t do anything and we just keep being herded like sheep into the ever more costly movie theater, how can we expect them to make another Sin City level comic book movie.

  3. June 9, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    @Agentorange

    Spidey: I agree, it just goes to show you that the morons making these movies have no real concept about the vast world of characters and storylines they can draw from. Storylines that DON’T include Emo Spidey. *Shudders*

    X-Men: I see your point. Each time I hope they do it justice and eachtime I’m let down (except for x2 which I loved. But like R1 I almost feel compelled to see an X-Men flick.

    -R2


Leave a Reply

