08
Jun
10

Casting Update – X-Men: First Class

Rumors are swirling that Rosamund Pike is in talks to play Emma Frost in X-Men: First Class. Nothing has been confirmed yet. I don’t mind her as Frost – I think she could possibly pull it off, but what in the heck is Emma doing in a First Class movie? Are they just throwing in characters again? *cringes* PS she’s 31…. and this is First Class… not so sure.

6 Responses to “Casting Update – X-Men: First Class”


  1. 1 g33ky monk3y
    June 8, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    This is why I don’t like Fox. If that casting rumor turns out to be true, than they are just throwing characters around. Wasn’t Emma in Wolverine as a teenager? Xavier was in the ending of that movie, as an old guy. So how will they explain the James McAvoy age thing?

    • June 8, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      Their standard reply – “this movie will stand on its own without reference to any other X-Men movie” haha what a joke!
      -R1

      • 3 g33ky monk3y
        June 13, 2010 at 3:34 pm

        Wait, does that mean they are doing the Hollywood buzzword: reboot? I wish that Disney would just dump a truckload of money on Fox’s doorstep to give the rights back to Marvel.

        Actually this movie is so that Fox can retain the rights. The same for Fantastic Four reboot, Ghost Rider 2 (which has no official director or actor commitment but will start shooting soon), and the Daredevil reboot.

      • June 13, 2010 at 4:39 pm

        I know! Marvel/Disney has said they won’t buy back the rights – they want to wait until Fox doesn’t want the characters anymore – like that will EVER happen! Ghost Rider was terrible and they’re making a 2 – as well as Daredevil and FF. They’ll just keep spewing out new ones as long as they’re making some bucks.
        -R1

  2. June 9, 2010 at 8:42 am

    As far as I’m concerned, the Emma in Origins was not Emma Frost. Emma’s diamond mutation would never manifest itself to look like she’d been badly bedazzled. She has standards!

    My first thought on this is-I’m not impressed. I liked Rosamund Pike in Pride and Prejudice, but that’s because she fit the character, who was charming and sweet. As a hardcore “Frostitute” I would love to see Emma portrayed the way she should be, Haughty, devious and somewhat severe. If Ms. Pike can pull this off, I’ll happily eat my words.

    -R2

  3. June 9, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Again, I’m glad I won’t be wasting my money on this movie. As long as Fox owns the franchise, you can expect more of the same


Leave a Reply

