06
Jun
10

Liev Schreiber is Knocking…Please, Please, Please Let Him In!

MTV chatted with Liev Schreiber AKA Victor Creed about the possibility of him reprising his role in the next installment of X-Men Origins: Wolverine. See full article here.

“Hugh [Jackman] has talked about the fact that he wants to work on the Japanese angle,” said Schreiber, “I’ve got my fingers crossed that Victor pops into that somewhere. I’m not sure yet. I don’t remember from the comic books [if he’s in there].”

Schreiber went on to explain how his comic book roots helped him in his Sabretooth role and even noted a few of his other favorite comics-to-film translations.

“I was definitely a Wolverine guy growing up. But I also have to admit I was kind of a DC guy,” said Schreiber, “It’s sort of an embarrassing thing to say but its true. Wolverine was up there though. I liked the dark noir nature to it. I had a ball with it. My guilty pleasure is I watch wacky action movies. I’m looking forward to ‘Iron Man 2.’ I’m always looking forward to the next installation of Batman.”

Now I don’t know about you, but I adored Liev as Sabes. True, he didn’t look much like Victor, but he nailed his brooding snarling personality. I could see him making a cameo appearance in the next Wolverine film, after all Sabretooth regularly finds Logan on his birthday and beats the snot out of him. It could work.

And can I just give a big fan-girl squeal that Liev is also a DC fan?

Bask in the hotness.

-R2

8 Responses to “Liev Schreiber is Knocking…Please, Please, Please Let Him In!”


  1. June 6, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    And bask in the nails of a bag lady 🙂
    -R1

  2. 2 mandarinm
    June 7, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Not to be a hater, because Schreiber channeled Sabertooth, but COME ON! The casting just keeps getting more and more about hollywood pretty-boys and less and less about the actual characters. I’m a diehard Wolvie fan. I always have been. I was BENT when I found out Hugh Jackman’s extra tall self was gonna play Wolverine, as he’s a walking oxymoron in every X-Movie regardless of his indisputable acting chops. EVERY casted role has been a miscast though (Halle Berry’s too short/extra americanized for a role built for Iman. Rogue cast in tiny teen Anna Paquin), so I shouldn’t be suprised I guess. I suppose, however, since they’ve already butchered it this badly that they should follow through for continuity sake.

    If the casting on the X-Monstrosities was as good as that of the Avengers arc I could die happy. I guess it doesn’t matter, since I’m not going to see any more of these big-budget fluff films anyway. Long live the Avengers!

  3. June 7, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    I hear ya. I find that I’m more forgiving on the looks of the character if the actor has nailed the personality. For example, Tyler Mane looked like Sabretooth, but character-wise he was nothing but hired muscle. Schreibers Victor on the other hand was amazing and he’s the one I would want to see play Victor from now on. But I certainly wouldn’t be upset if the made him a bit more monsterous looking.

    On the other hand, I completely agree with you about the casting of Rogue and Storm. I’m doing a happy dance that someone other than myself believes that Iman is the ONLY woman capable of playing Storm. Too bad she’s not an actress. R1 and myself go back and forth all the time on X-Men casting. In fact, it’ll be the subject of a future post. (We are however stuck on who to play Rogue)

    R2

  4. 5 mandarinm
    June 7, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    I’d like to see Danzig as Wolvie and James Hetfield as Sabertooth. They have the disposition, the looks and everything.

    I agree totally on Tyler Mane, but wasn’t that more a product of bad writing for the character than bad acting? He was totally a dullard in the first movie then miraculously he’s this suave killing genius!? COME ON SON

    • June 8, 2010 at 11:35 am

      James Hetfield looks too old for me, and I’m not sure on those guys’ acting ability, but agreed that they look like some gruff m.f.ers lol. Yeah, I blame the script for Tyler Mane’s Sabretooth but that’s where you need to do your homework (hello, RDJ) as an actor and say ‘hey – this doesn’t make sense.’
      -R1

      • 7 mandarinm
        June 8, 2010 at 7:54 pm

        I can respect that, for sure. On both accounts. I’m really just using them to illustrate the point that the look matters.

        I think the first Hulk, Iron Man, Spiderman and Superman got both good actors AND actors that looked the part. Certainly there is some undiscovered talent in the world that you could get to play the part. That’s all I’m saying. I don’t think they made an effort. I think they picked some dudes that they could sell and spent time on the special effects instead of the casting

      • June 8, 2010 at 9:22 pm

        True – RDJ was genius casting and even though I didn’t want to like Tobey as Spider-Man, that’s just how Spider-Man is. They did try to pretty-up the characters to draw in the non-comic book reading fans. Same reason they change the story and ruin it… but that’s a whole other rant lol.
        -R1


Leave a Reply

