08
May
10

Comic Movie Review – Iron Man 2

Just got back from Iron Man 2 and decided there’s no better time than the present to write my review. I’ll start off by saying it wasn’t as bad as the some of the bad reviews I’ve heard, but it also wasn’t a good as some of the good reviews, or as good as I’d hoped. I think we all expected Iron Man 2 to fall short of the original, which is fine, but they seemed to try and pack too much into one movie. Although I didn’t find it quite as overwhelmingly confusing as some of the reviews I’ve read online, it does become a bit cluttered and if you don’t come in with a sense of comic book knowledge, too much information could be lost to you. To that end, although I, like the rest of the nerds, are excited about the possibilities of Thor, Captain America, and The Avengers, Iron Man 2 tends to jam the references down your throat when they’re not necessary at times. There a few exciting fanboy/fangirl moments where you just gleam, knowing that you may be one of the few in the theater to get the reference, but after awhile it started to smell of an Avengers promotion, rather than focusing on the story of Iron Man.

As far as casting, Robert Downey Jr. is again perfection. Mickey Rourke plays an insane person oh-so-well and Sam Rockwell is surprisingly likable as the purposely over-the-top, goof-ball criminal – while the villains aren’t totally true to their origin, they are adapted for obvious, movie-friendly reasons (Whiplash is actually a combo of Whiplash and Crimson Dynamo and Sam Rockwell is made younger and less serious). Don Cheadle, in my opinion, stepped up and didn’t make me miss or even remember that anyone else had the part before him. Scarlett Johansson, whose character I was most worried about, didn’t bother me nearly as much as I feared, even without the accent. I dare say I even liked her. Gwyneth Paltrow, as always, plays uptight convincingly.

So, while I was not blown away by any means, Iron Man 2 is an entertaining popcorn flick. Although I hoped for much more, I didn’t feel like it was 2 hours of my life I needed back. If you enjoyed Iron Man, I think it’s definitely worth checking out. Oh, and stay until after the credits for an extra scene 😉

Hopeful that spoiler alerts were avoided,

Rogue 1

0 Responses to “Comic Movie Review – Iron Man 2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

