12
Apr
10

“I’ll smack you in the face if I ever meet you in real life.” An open letter to Ryan Reynolds.

Dear Ryan Reynolds,

While I appreciate your ab-tastic body as much as the next girl, I unfortunately find myself in the position of wanting to knee you in the throat. Even though I, like many others, was deeply wounded by the travesty that was Deadpool in “X-men Origins: Wolverine,” I was quite excited to hear that you would be playing Deadpool in his own feature film. You promised me that you’d stick true to the story line, which too few comic book movies do, and that you’d completely disregard the mess that X-men Origins created with the character. Hope swelled. X-men nerds rejoiced. The heavens split open as if Storm herself was clearing the dreary clouds to let the light shine in….

And then news as unfortunate as Mysterio’s choice of headgear…

You’re playing the Green Lantern? Now, I will admit that I am biased in choices of Marvel over DC, but Green Lantern? You’re putting on hold the opportunity to play a verified, wise-cracking bad ass that breaks the fourth wall to play a guy that gets his powers from a crappy piece of jewelry? Do you want to play an individual who was “utterly honest and born without fear” or a “mentally unstable mercenary?” I mean, come on, this is not rocket science.

Sigh. I digress. As a representative of Marvel fans everywhere, you owe us a spectacular Deadpool movie for putting us through this. I’m talking breaking the fourth wall, scarred up face, and “no pickles.” We’re watching you, Reynolds.

Respectfully,

Rogue 1

1 Response to ““I’ll smack you in the face if I ever meet you in real life.” An open letter to Ryan Reynolds.”


  1. April 12, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    i hope the Deadpool movie sticks to the true story and character. To be fair, i don’t think reynolds had much say in the development of the movie. Let’s hope this time they get it right, both Wolverine’s new one and the Deapool’s. Haha i enjoyed the rant though


Leave a Reply

